Blatherskite

What is this handbasket we’re in, and where is it going?

Being a Maverick ain’t that great…

After all, Maverick got Goose killed. But I suppose I’m not discussing the merits of Top Gun as an American piece of art.  I have to descend into politics, as it seems like the popular thing to do these days, what with a very important election just a couple of weeks away.  And, like many Americans, I’m inexplicably drawn towards talking about Sarah Palin.

Frankly, she scares the crap out of me.  But that’s irrelevant as I’m not a social conservative.  What is important, however, is her conduct as the governor of Alaska and how that relates to her supposed appeal to “Joe six-pack.”  In addition to the ethics committee finding that she did abuse her power in the firing of one Walter Monegan, though there was no wrong-doing (??), it has now been revealed that she withdrew Alaska funds in upwards of $21,000 to fly her three daughters around since she took office in 2006.

If I’m an Alaskan taxpayer, that’s unacceptable.  That’s recall worthy.  It’s not illegal, so long as the money is being spent in the state’s interest – though I doubt the state has any interest in more than a few of the charges, including –

costs for hotel and commercial flights for three daughters to join Palin to watch their father in a snowmobile race, and a trip to New York, where the governor attended a five-hour conference and stayed with 17-year-old Bristol for five days and four nights in a luxury hotel.

It must be nice to be able to retroactively ammend travel expenses to include the phrases “first family attending” and the like.  You know, if my dad were to charge his company $21,000 to jet his family around when he has to travel, they’d can his ass in a heartbeat.  Palin talks about transparency and accountability an awful lot – I hope that Alaskans hold her to it.

October 22, 2008 - Posted by | Political Rants

1 Comment »

  1. I was always confused about that myself. Who wants to be the maverick with THAT implication?
    I also agree that Ms. Palin freaks me out, for more reasons than I could possibly relate in this box. In other news, I’m voting on Friday and I couldn’t be more excited about it. Everytime I meet someone new, they demand to know who I’m voting for. They, too, are scared.

    Comment by jkscow | October 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

